The Sewer District operates and maintains the following treatment/reclamation facilities:

  • 10 mechanical plants
  • 8 aerated lagoons
  • 1 non-aerated lagoons
  • 3 re-circulating sand filters
  • 2 drip irrigation system

The City of Columbia provides wholesale treatment for some of the subdivisions in the Sewer District's territory. In other words, the Sewer District maintains the collection system but the wastewater flows to the City's Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant and the Sewer District pays Columbia for treatment.

Operating Permits

Each receiving body of water has limits to the amount of pollutants it can receive without degradation. Each sewage treatment/reclamation plant has a permit from the Department of Natural Resources listing the allowable levels of BOD (biochemical oxygen demand), suspended solids, bacteria, and other pollutants. The discharge permits are called NPDES (National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System) permits.

The permits must be renewed every five years. When a permit is getting close to expiration, the renewal is put out on public notice. A new application for an NPDES permit for a treatment/reclamation facility also goes through a public notice process. The Department of Natural Resources posts permits on public notice on its website here: http://www.dnr.mo.gov/env/wpp/permits/permit-pn.htm

BCRSD Collection System

The Sewer District collects and treats wastewater for approximately 99 subdivisions in Boone County mainly surrounding the City of Columbia. The Sewer District maintains approximately 76 miles of gravity sewer main and 30 miles of force main. There are approximately 1,620 manholes in the Sewer District’s collection system and 20 lift stations.

Click here to see a list of the subdivisions where we provide service >